EXUVIE

Chronicle of a thrilling mutation, Exuvie is a slow trance through which everything is changing, turning into something else. A total, all new and almost scientific experiment.

The artistic team of SINE QUA NON ART proposes a true contemplative immersion in a foreign land: frozen bodies, walking bodies and bodies-to-bodies are giving birth to a moving fresco adorned with evocations referring to visual arts scenes, where tortured figures from Munch, to the splendid mastered drapery from the antics sculptors or from the classical painters overlaid each other.

The figure of the usual dance duo is established with new terms. A third protagonist is invited to dance this choreographic work: wax, in all its forms. Both main dramaturgic element, stage design element and partner of the two performers, the wax tells of its own metamorphosis.

Its process of transformation from a liquid and translucent state to its final and definitive solidification, determine the rhythm and the pace of the stage time. This physical process remains sensitive and variable: no representation is exactly the same as the other.

''exuvie'' designate what is left by the vertebrate after
the moulting phenomena

Choreographic writing is definitively rooted in an almost articular exploration of movement, an amplification of movement seeking a certain density of the time of the show. Because during Exuvie, everything is a matter of time. The paraffin wax has its own constraint. In this race against time, dance is contained in a temporality dictated by physic laws.

The challenge for the performers: make themselves available in order to inhabit the time defined by the reality of the stage and the organic aspect of the set design. In the scientific language, “exuvie” designate what is left by the vertebrate after the moulting phenomena, their “former skin”. This moving space-time is supported by the pulsation of the musicians who perform live the orchestration electro-rock of this surprising ballet. Elastic, epileptic, the live musical creation in which the waves of prepared guitars are mixed with under-water pianos and digital roars, complete this scenic journey.

Journeys of bodies ridding themselves of their social habits, subjected to their own animality, to finally succeed in undergoing their final transformation.

Concept – Performance: Christophe Béranger, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours
Original music – Live : Yohan Landry, Damien Skoracki
Light design: Olivier Bauer
Set construction – Stage manager: Gregory Fradin
Visual artist: Laurianne Seux
Duration: 1H05

*Laureate TANZRECHERCHE NRW#13 Köln

Production: SINE QUA NON ART
Coproduction: La Coursive, Scène Nationale de La Rochelle
 with the financial support of the Région Poitou-Charentes – aide à la résidence de création, la DRAC Poitou-Charentes – aide au projet, l’Adami,
With the support of the University of La Rochelle – Maison de l’étudiant, La Sirène – Scène de musiques actuelles de l’agglomération de La Rochelle, Tanzrecherche NRW, NRW KULTURsekretariat, tanZkoeln, tanZbüro Köln, Quartier am Hafen, Westwerk Immobilien, DANCE FLOW.

 

PressTanzWebKolnBonnSud Ouest Mai 14 / LE MAG / Sud Ouest Fev 15 / L’Orient le Jour / Bipod-Beirut / Daily Star 

‘‘Belle prise pour La Rochelle, avec l’arrivée récente de la compagnie SINE QUA NON ART. Les deux choré- graphes danseurs apres avoir officié auprès des plus grands poussent plus avant leurs danses mutantes avec leurs dernière création Exuvie’’.
Jenny Delrieux (SUD OUEST)

‘‘Tailoring their slow movements to the wax, in a unique sequence dictated by the temperature and viscosity of the material, the two men created a breathtaking moving tableau. The message might have had something to do with isolation and teamwork, conflict and resolution or dominance and submission. Whatever it meant, “Exuvie” was beautiful.’’
India Stougton (DAILY STAR – LIBAN)  

‘‘C’est dans ce bain de cire hautement glissant que les danseurs évoluent une heure durant. La cire se présente ici comme le troisième élément de la performance, véritable star traitée d’abord avec délicatesse, domptée, caressée, maniée avec douceur puis déchiquetée, malmenée et roulée, au final, en boule, dans un grand ciré noir.’’
M.G.H (L’ORIENT LE JOUR)  

‘‘One has rarely seen such strong and long applause for performances at Wachsfabrik / BarnesCrossing.’’
Melanie Suchy (TANZWEB-KOLNBONN)

  • April 2016
  • Friday 01 st
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival Danse Performative
    Scène Nationale of Orléans
  • 8:30pm
  • May 2016
  • Tuesday 24 th
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Moulin du Roc
    Scène Nationale of Niort
  • 8:30 pm
  • September 2016
  • Thursday 15 th
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • "Les Quais, ici ou ailleurs"
    Cognac
  • October 2016
  • Tuesday 11 th
  • and, Wednesday 12
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Bonlieu
    Scène nationale Annecy
  • 8pm30

Want to know more?
  • June 2014
  • Friday 27
  • and Saturday 28
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival TANZ AM STORM
    Köln
  • 8:30pm
  • October 2014
  • Saturday 04
  • and Sunday 05
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Centre Pompidou-Metz
  • 4pm
  • February 2015
  • Tuesday 17
  • and Wednesday 18
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • La Coursive
    Scène Nationale de La Rochelle
  • 8:30pm
  • April 2015
  • Saturday 25
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival BIPOD
    Beyrouth - LIBAN
  • 8:30pm
  • December 2015
  • Thursday 03
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Beaulieu - Poitiers
  • 8:30pm

EXUVIE

Chronique d’une mutation troublante, Exuvie est une transe lente où tout se transforme, une expérience totale et inédite, quasi-scientifique.

L’équipe artistique de Sine Qua Non Art propose une véritable immersion contemplative en paysage étranger : corps figés, corps piétons, corps à corps, donnent naissance à une fresque mouvante émaillée d’évocations issues des arts plastiques où se superposent les figures torturées de Munch et les drapés somptueux et maîtrisés des sculpteurs antiques ou des peintres classiques.

La figure du duo en danse se paramètre selon des modalités inédites. Un troisième protagoniste est convié à venir danser cette pièce chorégraphique : la cire, dans tous ses états. A la fois élément dramaturgique principal, matière scénographique, et partenaire des deux performeurs, la cire raconte sa propre métamorphose.

Son processus de transformation, d’un état liquide et translucide jusqu’à sa solidification définitive, détermine le rythme du spectacle. Et ce processus physique demeure sensible et variable : aucune représentation n’est tout à fait semblable à une autre.

 

''exuvie'' désigne l’enveloppe laissée par les vertébrés après la mue

L’écriture chorégraphique est résolument ancrée dans une exploration presque articulaire du mouvement, une amplification du geste cherchant une certaine densité du temps de la représentation. Car avec Exuvie, tout est affaire de temps. La paraffine impose ses contraintes. Dans cette course contre la montre, la danse est circonscrite dans une temporalité dictée par les lois de la physique. Le défi pour les danseurs : se rendre disponible pour habiter le temps défini par la réalité du plateau et le dispositif scénographique.

Dans le langage scientifique, «exuvie» désigne l’enveloppe laissée par les vertébrés après la mue, leur « ancienne peau ». Cet espace-temps mouvant est soutenu par la pulsation des musiciens qui exécutent en direct l’orchestration électro-rock de ce ballet surprenant. Elastique, épileptique, la création musicale live où les nappes de guitares préparées côtoient des pianos sous-marins et des fracas numériques, achève le récit scénique de cette traversée.
Traversée des corps se dépouillant de leurs habitudes sociales, soumis à leur animalité, pour parvenir enfin, à faire peau neuve.

Concept – Performance: Christophe Béranger, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours
Musique originale – Live : Yohan Landry, Damien Skoracki
Création lumière: Olivier Bauer
Construction décors – Régie technique: Gregory Fradin
Plasticienne: Laurianne Seux
Durée 1H05

*Lauréat TANZRECHERCHE NRW#13 Köln

Production: SINE QUA NON ART
Coproduction: La Coursive, Scène Nationale de La Rochelle
 Avec le soutien financier de la Région Poitou-Charentes – aide à la résidence de création, la DRAC Poitou-Charentes – aide au projet, l’Adami,
Avec le soutien de l’Université de La Rochelle – Maison de l’étudiant, La Sirène – Scène de musiques actuelles de l’agglomération de La Rochelle, Tanzrecherche NRW, NRW KULTURsekretariat, tanZkoeln, tanZbüro Köln, Quartier am Hafen, Westwerk Immobilien, DANCE FLOW.

Presse: TanzWebKolnBonnSud Ouest Mai 14 / LE MAG / Sud Ouest Fev 15 / L’Orient le Jour / Bipod-Beirut / Daily Star

‘‘Belle prise pour La Rochelle, avec l’arrivée récente de la compagnie SINE QUA NON ART. Les deux choré- graphes danseurs apres avoir officié auprès des plus grands poussent plus avant leurs danses mutantes avec leurs dernière création Exuvie’’.
Jenny Delrieux (SUD OUEST)

‘‘Tailoring their slow movements to the wax, in a unique sequence dictated by the temperature and viscosity of the material, the two men created a breathtaking moving tableau. The message might have had something to do with isolation and teamwork, conflict and resolution or dominance and submission. Whatever it meant, “Exuvie” was beautiful.’’
India Stougton (DAILY STAR – LIBAN)  

‘‘C’est dans ce bain de cire hautement glissant que les danseurs évoluent une heure durant. La cire se présente ici comme le troisième élément de la performance, véritable star traitée d’abord avec délicatesse, domptée, caressée, maniée avec douceur puis déchiquetée, malmenée et roulée, au final, en boule, dans un grand ciré noir.’’
M.G.H (L’ORIENT LE JOUR)  

‘‘One has rarely seen such strong and long applause for performances at Wachsfabrik / BarnesCrossing.’’
Melanie Suchy (TANZWEB-KOLNBONN)


  • avril 2016
  • vendredi 01
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival Danse Performative
    Scène Nationale d'Orléans
  • 20H30
  • mai 2016
  • mardi 24
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Moulin du Roc
    Scène nationale de Niort
  • 20H30
  • septembre 2016
  • jeudi 15
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • "Les Quais, ici ou ailleurs"
    Cognac
  • octobre 2016
  • mardi 11
  • et, mercredi 12
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Bonlieu
    Scène nationale Annecy
  • 20h30

Envie de connaître toutes les dates ?
  • juin 2014
  • vendredi 27
  • et samedi 28
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival TANZ AM STORM
    Köln
  • 20H30
  • octobre 2014
  • samedi 04
  • et dimanche 05
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Centre Pompidou-Metz
  • 16H00
  • février 2015
  • mardi 17
  • et mercredi 18
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • La Coursive
    Scène Nationale de La Rochelle
  • 20H30
  • avril 2015
  • samedi 25
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Festival BIPOD
    Beyrouth - LIBAN
  • 20H30
  • décembre 2015
  • jeudi 03
  • Représentation
  • Exuvie
  • Beaulieu - Poitiers
  • 20H30