Company

 

 

One comes from Visual Art, went through Theater before training later in Contemporary Dance, at P.A.R.T.S., the school founded in Brussels by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. Performer, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours has been working with Roméo Castellucci, Sasha Waltz, Mathilde Monnier, among others.

_DSC6026

The other, more attached to the body, made his classes earlier in the conservatory of La Rochelle. Christophe Béranger joined the Ballet de Lorraine in 1992 where he was an interpreter, choreographer and artistic assistant. In 2003, he received the insignia of Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters for his contribution to the CCN and his commitment to cultural action.

 

These different artistic paths, rich in experiences in their diversity, form the basis of the complementary work carried out by the two artists. And together they decided, in 2012 to found their company SINE QUA NON ART, and to established it in La Rochelle. Their pieces have different processes and universes every time.They find themselves under a common sense of artistic collaborations that invest as much the field of  Performance, Visual Arts and Live Music.

In 2013 they are awarded the TANZResearch NRW # 13 in Cologne which allows them to create their famous creation ‘’Exuvie » in 150 kg of wax.

In 2014 they win the 1st Prize of the competition (Re)connaissance with their work  » Des ailleurs sans lieux  ». At the same time, they created for major repertory companies, in France for the Metz Opera Ballet, and abroad, as recently for the National Ballet of Kosovo in December 2016, « Recomposed » for 24 dancers . In December 2017, they create « Rite of Spring » for the 58th anniversary of the national contemporary dance company Danza Contemporeana from Cuba in Havana. Their creations have been presented in Lebanon, Brazil, Macao, Luxembourg, Germany, Cuba, Singapore, Kosovo ….

Givers of experience, Christophe Béranger and Jonathan Pranlas-Descours are deeply involved in sharing with the audience. Creating special times for experiencing sensations, feeling emotions, sometimes being shaken, surprised and curious about the unexpected, the living being, are all preoccupations that activate their approach.

Seeking to forge links where the human canvas has been torned or distended, they work in the gaps, as opposed to the relational gaps created by the use of new technologies and the effects produced by reality television. It is also why they prefer experimentation and sensations. « To be with » to experience, such could be their motto.

The project P.A.N (Permanence Artistique Nomade) proposes to bring together these times of artistic practice on the territory of the Rochelle for a choreographic crossing open to all.

FRISE

 

 

 

rond17

CHRISTOPHE BÉRANGER

 

Graduated From the conservatory of La Rochelle, Christophe Béranger entered at the National Ballet de Lorraine in 1992.
Appointed as a soloist, he got invited to took part in creations meeting about 60 choreographers along his career, such as  Lia Rodrigues, Michèle Noiret, Karole Armitage, Russell Maliphant, Odile Duboc among others …

In 2000, he signed his first pieces, and began choreo- graphing for Ballet Young Europe, and inscribe his pieces in the repertoire as guest choreographer for other structures such as Opera, Ballet, Conservatories …

Christophe Béranger received in 2003 the insignia of Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters for his achievement in the art fields and the quality of his outreach activities in France.
Following his career as a teacher and choreographer, in 2005 Didier Deschamps entrusts him the artistic direction and educational of the dance school of CCN – Ballet de Lorraine.

Appointed in 2010 as assistant artistic by Petter Jacobsson, and then artistic coordinator, he ensures until 2013 the artistic and technical coordination of the CCN, and assisting choreographers such as Faustin Linyekula, Maria La Ribot, Mathilde Monnier in their creations.

 

rond18

JONATHAN PRANLAS-DESCOURS

 

Graduated in Fine Arts and Art History, and then in Theater at the University of Marseille, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours started his dance training in Paris and by working in several independent projects. He worked in severals independant contemporary dance compagnies in Europe such as Mateja Bucar (Sl), Kostas Rigos (Gr), Sebastian Prantl (Aut) et Rebecca Murgi (It) and then entered at P.A.R.T.S,(directed by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker) from 2006 until 2010.

During this period he worked for specific projects such as : « Inferno » from Romeo Castellucci, Avignon Festival (2008), « Dialogue 09 » from Sasha Waltz, Neues Museum Berlin (2009), « Anyway no way of knowing » from John Jasperse, Opera of la Monnaie, Brussels ( 2010).

In 2011, he worked with the company, SOIT, lead by Hans Van Den Broek, based in Brussels and Alexandra Waeirstall based in Dusseldorf. From 2011 until 2014, he worked at the National Choreographical Center of Montpellier (CCN) and internationally toured several works of Mathilde Monnier, such as «Pudique Acide / Extasis / Twin Paradox / Soapéra».

Since 2009, he teaches regular dance training, in Paris (Ménagerie de Verre) and other locations in Conservatory as a guest teacher , and pass on repertory of CCN Montpellier, especially at CCN Ballet-de-Lorraine and at the University of Paris 8 (Master 1 and 2).

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .TEAM :

Choreographers – Dancers: Christophe Béranger, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours

Administrator: Denis Forgeron

Dancers: I-Fang Lin, Virginie Garcia, Jorge Moré Caldéron, Francesca Ziviani

Musicians – Composers: Yohan Landry, Damien Skoracki, Pascale Berthomier

Lights designer / Lights manager: Olivier Bauer

Stage manager / Set constructor: Gregory Fradin

Costume designer: Pauline Kieffer

Techniciens: Franck Ingrand, Jacques Grislin

Photographers / Video maker: Chloë Champion, João Garcia

Web Designer: Antichambre – João Garcia, Pascal Sémur

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . PARTNERS:

 

SINE QUA NON ART company is supported by the city of La Rochelle, founded by the Région Nouvelle Aquitaine supported by the Ministry of Culture and Communication / DRAC Nouvelle Aquitaine.

SINE QUA NON ART company received the support of Institut Français for its international projects.

SINE QUA NON ART company has received the support Fondation BNP-Paribas for its previous works.

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . CONTACT:

Christophe Béranger & Jonathan Pranlas-Descours

Production : sinequanon.prod@gmail.com

Denis Forgeron

Administration : sinequanon.adm@gmail.com

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Copyrights:

Photographies: Chloë Champion, João Garcia, Joerg Letz, Mathieu Rousseau, Klaus Dilger,  Studio Pichet, André Nitschke, Christèle Marie, Laurent Philippe, Julie Freichel.

Traduction: Simon Ouedraogo

Compagnie

 

 

L’un vient des arts plastiques, est passé par le théâtre avant de se former sur le tard à la danse, à P.A.R.T.S., l’école fondée à Bruxelles par Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. Interprète on le retrouve notamment auprès de Roméo Castellucci, Sasha Waltz, Mathilde Monnier… Il s’agit de Jonathan Pranlas-Descours.

_DSC6026

L’autre, plus arrimé au corps, a fait plus tôt ses classes au conservatoire de La Rochelle. Christophe Béranger a rejoint le Ballet de Lorraine en 1992 où il a été interprète, chorégraphe et assistant artistique. Il reçoit en 2003 les insignes de Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et Lettres pour sa contribution au CCN et son engagement dans l’action culturelle.

 

Ces différents parcours d’interprète, riches d’expériences dans leur diversité, sont à la base du travail en tandem, complémentaire mené par les deux artistes. Et c’est ensemble qu’ils ont décidé, en 2012 de fonder leur compagnie SINE QUA NON ART, et de l’implantée à La Rochelle. Leurs pièces ont des processus et des univers à chaque fois différents, ils se retrouvent sous un sens commun de collaborations artistiques qui investissent autant le champ de la Performance, des Arts Visuels et de la Musique Live.

En 2013 ils sont lauréats de la TANZRecherche NRW#13 à Cologne qui leur permet de créer ‘‘Exuvie’’ leur fameuse création dans 150 kg de cire.
En 2014 ils remportent le 1er Prix du concours (Re)connaissance avec leur pièce ‘‘Des ailleurs sans lieux’’. Parallèlement, ils créent pour de grandes compagnies de répertoire, en france pour le Ballet de l’Opéra de Metz, et à l’étranger, comme dernièrement pour le Ballet National du Kosovo en décembre 2016 ‘‘Recomposed’’ pour 24 danseurs. Ils créeront en décembre 2017 un ‘‘Sacre du Printemps’’ pour le 58 ème anniversaire de la compagnie nationale Danza Contemporeána de Cuba à La Havane. Leurs créations ont été présentées au Liban, au Brésil, à Macao, au Luxembourg, en Allemagne, à Cuba, à Singapour, au Kosovo…

Passeurs d’expérience, Christophe Béranger et Jonathan Pranlas-Descours sont très investis dans la rencontre avec le public. Créer des temps particuliers pour traverser des sensations, ressentir des émotions, être bous- culé parfois, surpris et curieux devant l’inattenduz, le vivant, sont autant de préoccupations qui animent leur démarche.

Cherchant à tisser des liens là où la toile humaine s’est déchirée ou distendue, ils œuvrent dans les failles, en contrepoint des écarts relationnels créés par l’usage des nouvelles technologies et des effets produits par la téléréalité. C’est aussi pourquoi ils privilégient l’expérimentation et les sensations. « Etre avec » pour éprouver, telle pourrait être leur devise.

Le projet P.A.N (Permanence Artistique Nomade) propose de réunir ces temps de pratique artistique sur le territoire rochelais pour une traversée chorégraphique ouverte à tous.

FRISE

 

 

 

rond17

CHRISTOPHE BÉRANGER

 

Diplômé en 1990 de l’E.M.N.D. de La Rochelle, Christophe Béranger devient interprète en 1992 au Ballet National de Lorraine. Nommé comme soliste, il devient un interprète remarqué du CCN en participant aux créations de Lia Rodrigues, Odile Duboc, Michèle Noiret, Karole Armitage, Robyn Orlin, Boyzie Cekwana…

Dès 2000, il signe ses premières pièces qu’il inscrit au répertoire du CCN, et devient chorégraphe invité pour d’autres structures telles que Les Jeunes Ballets d’Europe, Ballets de l’Opéra de Metz, Conservatoires de La Rochelle, d’Avignon…

En 2003, André Larquié lui remet les insignes de Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, pour sa contribution au CCN et son engagement dans l’action culturelle. Didier Deschamps lui confie la direction artistique et pédagogique en 2005 de la Cellule d’Insertion Professionnelle du CCN.

Nommé en 2010, comme assistant artistique, puis coordinateur artistique par Petter Jacobsson, il assure jusqu’en avril 2013 la coordination de l’équipe artistique et technique du CCN. Il assiste les chorégraphes invités tels que Faustin Linyekula, Maria La Ribot, Mathilde Monnier dans leurs créations.

 

rond18

JONATHAN PRANLAS-DESCOURS

 

Diplômé en Arts Plastiques et en Histoire des Arts en 2001, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours continue sa formation à l’Université de Provence, où il étudie le théâtre et la mise en scène. Il débute ensuite sa formation en danse contemporaine à Paris et participe à de nombreuses créations de chorégraphes européens, tel que M.Bucar, K.Rigos, S.Prantl…

En 2006, il intègre P.A.R.T.S dirigée par Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker (Bruxelles). Il est danseur interprète sur des projets spécifiques tels que : « Inferno » de Romeo Castellucci, Festival IN d’Avignon (2008), « Dialogue 09 » de Sasha Waltz, Neues Museum – Berlin (2009), « Anyway no way of knowing » de John Jasperse, Opéra de la Monnaie (2010). Il travaille ensuite avec la compagnie SOIT, Hans Van Den Broek, (Ex- Ballet C de la B), à Bruxelles et avec Alexandra Waeirstall, à Dusseldorf.

De 2011 à 2014, il travaille avec Mathilde Monnier au CCN de Montpellier sur plusieurs pièces de création, répertoire et reprise de rôle: « Pudique Acide / Extasis / Twin Paradox / Soapéra ». Depuis 2009, il enseigne l’entrainement régulier du danseur, notamment à La Ménagerie de Verre – Paris; transmet le répertoire du CCN de Montpellier notamment au Ballet de Lorraine et à l’Université Paris 8 (Master 1 et 2).

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .EQUIPES. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Chorégraphes – Danseurs: Christophe Béranger, Jonathan Pranlas-Descours

Administrateur: Denis Forgeron

Danseurs – Danseuses: I-Fang Lin, Virginie Garcia, Jorge Moré Caldéron, Francesca Ziviani

Musiciens – Compositeurs: Yohan Landry, Damien Skoracki, Pascale Berthomier

Créateur Lumière / Régie Lumière: Olivier Bauer

Regisseur Plateau / Constructeur de décors: Gregory Fradin

Costumière: Pauline Kieffer

Techniciens: Franck Ingrand, Jacques Grislin, Laurent Savatier

Photographes / Vidéastes: Chloë Champion, João Garcia

Web Designer: Antichambre – João Garcia, Pascal Sémur

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .PARTENAIRES. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

 

SINE QUA NON ART est conventionné par la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine,

et reçoit le soutien de la DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine – Ministère de la culture et de communication et le soutien de la ville de La Rochelle,

SINE QUA NON ART reçoit le soutien de l’Institut Français pour ses projets à l’international.

La compagnie Sine Qua Non Art a reçu le soutien de La Fondation BNP Paribas pour ses précédents projets

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . CONTACT. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Christophe Béranger et Jonathan Pranlas-Descours > Production : sinequanon.prod@gmail.com

Denis Forgeron > Administration : sinequanon.adm@gmail.com

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Copyright photographies. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 Chloë Champion, João Garcia, Joerg Letz, Mathieu Rousseau, Klaus Dilger,  Studio Pichet, André Nitschke, Christèle Marie, Laurent Philippe, Julie Freichel.